While many redirects will be created automatically when categories or articles are renamed, the master manager can create redirects for them or even the whole site.
This procedure can be used to modify an existing redirect by ignoring step 2 and editing the From or To fields instead of step 3.
Normally, redirects can be left as temporary until the redirect is acting properly. The wildcard Replace and Source types need to be checked for all possible paths matching the From path. When a redirect is permanent, visitors' browsers, and intermediate DNS servers, will keep the from and to paths in their own redirect table, and use those instead when the old URL is entered or presented for future requests, eventually making the redirect on the site obsolete. However, it is a call as to how long to leave the redirect active on the site before deleting it, as that depends upon the number of visitors and the duration between visits. Redirects are deleted four weeks after expiry, allowing enough time to extend them if overlooked.
This procedure is intended to be performed by: Master manager.
To create a redirect:
2Show the redirect fields
by clicking on the ✚ in the first cell of the last row of the type of redirect to be created.
3Create the redirect
4Optionally, make permanent
by clicking the Permanent (301) option in the Type row.
Do this only after ensuring that the redirect works as intended.
5Extend the expiry date
by clicking on the required extension button in the Expiry row.
6Enable the redirect
by clicking the Disabled ☐ button in the Status row.
The redirect is live and the Status changes to an Enabled ☑ button.